Tremolo Beer Gut – „Under The Covers With.“ | VÖ 18.11.

“They are here to put the URF! back in surf! They love tremolo, they love beer and they’ve got guts!”

The Tremolo Beer Gut was „invented“ in 1998 by Sune Wagner (Psyched Up Janis and The Raveonettes) and Jesper „Yebo“ Reginal (THAU, Tothe International, Psyched Up Janis, Junior Senior, Heavy Trash etc.) in a Psyched Up Janis tour bus, and expanded right away with Jens Ole „Jengo“ Lembcke (Trains and Boats and Planes) and Per Sunding (Eggstone). Sune Wagner left the band after The Raveonettes began to gain success in 2002, and was replaced by the group’s producer The Great Nalna (aka Ulrik Petersen from THAU, Heavy Trash and Tothe International). Sune therefore appears on a number of songs from before 2002, while Nalna is performing on almost all the tracks (as he in fact played on earlier recordings too).

From the very beginning, the The Tremolo Beer Gut has been about film-music and surf-elements, which are reflected in the more contemporary music that has been the inspiration for the band. When The Tremolo Beer Gut started on the music scene in 1999, it reverberated around the world’s surf forums: A new band was in the midst of reinventing the genre. A lot of reviewers on fanzines noticed it: The sound is 100% authentic old school, but The Tremolo Beer Gut writes fundamental original music, which takes the fast track off the often reactive songwriting that characterizes the genre.

This approach is highly reflected in the selection of cover songs the band has made through their lifetime. All the songs are now for the first time joined on one album, plus five new recordings that has never been released before. There are therefore no surf-standards on the track list to „Under The Covers With…“. The closest you can get to it is Duane Eddy’s biggest hit: “Because They’re Young”, although it must be characterised as a western song, and Beach Boys’ legendary „Pet Sounds“ that, misunderstood by many, is still described as surf (Beach Boys sang of surf, but the music was not surf for that reason). Besides these elder tracks, there are tracks as Blue Phantom’s „Diodo“ (in TBG’s version „9 Times the Pain“) and Lalo Schifrin’s „Danube Incident“ from the original „Mission Impossible“-soundtrack, which most know better heavily sampled by Portishead in their breakthrough hit „Sour Times“. Other than that, it goes on with, among others, Kraftwerk’s „Das Modell“, Tom Waits‘ „Midtown“, Sonic Youth’s „Death Valley ’69“ and Depeche Mode’s „Useless“ (with a little hint to The Pixies‘ „Hey!“) up to the present time, where the newest track is Danish Who Made Who’s „Every Minute Alone“. Along the way, The Tremolo Beer Gut has also been so kind to make new versions of songs from the members’ former bands, including „Damn Right“ with Tothe International, „Las Vegas“ by THAU and „Johnnies Sykel Intro Theme“ with the prelude for “Eggstone”, Johnnies Sykel. The last mentioned two tracks never made it to a release, but they were played live in the old 90’s anyways.

All in all, it is a fresh bouquet of good-humoured, shameless but kind reinterpretations of a number of very diverse tracks. The songs are recorded in the period of 1998-2011 in a large variety of lo-fi analogue stereo formats. Some of the tracks has been featured on the band’s own releases, others in stead of so-called „remixes“ on other bands’ releases (e.g. ”She Said” by Jon Spencer’s Blues Explosion”, ”Turn Me up” by Superheroes, ”Rave Kned” by Beta Satan and ”Le Jacquet” af First Floor Power”) and some others can be found on compilations (”Deep Under the Chinese Snow” by The Mopeds”). So even for TBG fans, there will be more than the five newly recorded songs that seems new.

Tremolo Beer Gut live

23.11. Freiburg, D
24.11. Biel, CH
25.11. Augsburg, D
26.11. Stuttgart, D


Verwandte Artikel

  • Keine verwandten Artikel gefunden

Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.


Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.